Complete beginner

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
The brown coloring may also be related to the scent that you used. According to the Voyageur site, their Spiced Hot Cocoa fragrance oil contains up to 3% vanillin, and up to 3% ethyl vanillin. Their picture shows a tan bar, but with that much vanillin, you can probably expect the soap to turn even darker over time.

I am not a big fan of having food particles go down my shower drain. Just don't want to be having to try to unclog that. I, personally, would not use anything like seeds or coffee grounds in my soap.

Did my first batch today, messed up first time matching lye water and oil temperature which took little bit to fix but then when they both hit 120 F i mixed…”
I’m very type A personality & was taught 2soap@ specific high temp & lye & oils MUST be with 10 degrees. It gave me so much stress I made soap literally ONCE a year. THEN, I started reading this forum. ❤️ Made my own recipe & own temperature & caught the soap bug.
Even went so far as experiment @ room temp, pre-made materials. I made my lye solution & mixed oils one day & then a full 24 hours later mixed together to make soap @ room temperature. The chemistry was still working. Yes, batter went thru false trace but kept mixing with whisk & tah dah ✨ made 🧼
603C3209-2C58-464D-913B-2D47EAC4837F.jpeg

Even piped a top just because I’d never done it. It’s so bad. 😂 😂 but point is FORGET thermometer & temp MUSTS!

The brown coloring may also be related to the scent that you used. According to the Voyageur site, their Spiced Hot Cocoa fragrance oil contains up to 3% vanillin, and up to 3% ethyl vanillin. Their picture shows a tan bar, but with that much vanillin, you can probably expect the soap to turn even darker over time.
I heard of vanillin but didn’t read much on it. I think I’m going to do some research.