Complete beginner

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SoapNoobs

Reaction score
I saw a ad on instagram called Dr. Squatch and i think it’s cool getting to make your own soap and wanted to give it a try.
i’m about to buy the lye, silicone mold, and some oils, but one thing that completely confuses me is how do i get exact measurements to fill my silicone container? I’m going with 42 OZ mold, olive oil, jojoba oil, castor oil and shea butter but how do i find perfect percentage of each without making soap too hard or soft? Because I don’t want my bar gone in 3 uses or hard with no lather.
If anyone could help me with this i would greatly appreciate it.

I use bramble berry soap calculator which helps but i have no clue how many oz of each to put in each box. They say you can use 100% olive oil but would be too slippery and soft so whats good ratio for each?

Attachments

• D8242E51-308A-459F-A011-8D844A182492.jpeg
    D8242E51-308A-459F-A011-8D844A182492.jpeg
    51.2 KB · Views: 12
  • F1E371A2-FE49-46CC-9D1F-401226031778.jpeg
    F1E371A2-FE49-46CC-9D1F-401226031778.jpeg
    46 KB · Views: 13
Hi SoapNoobs,

I love jojoba oil, but I don't recommend using it for soap. It's expensive, and best saved for lotions that absorb into your skin, rather than a soap that is quickly washed off. You'd be better off starting with something like:

35% Olive oil
30% palm oil or lard
20% coconut oil
10% shea butter
5% castor oil

I'd recommend setting your Superfat to 3%. Then select "Lye Concentration" and set it to 33%.

That is a decent basic soap recipe for beginners. Enter the percentages for each oil into the SoapMakingFriend lye calculator. Then enter the dimensions of your mold, and select "Resize recipe to fit mold."

The calculator will provide you with the amounts for each oil, as well as the correct amount of water and lye.

HTH, and happy soaping!