Colour leak normal?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vicvic

Reaction score
Hey folks!

I'm new to soapmaking and have just gotten my first batch of cured CP soap ready to distribute.

The recipe uses Olive oil, Almond oil, Avocado oil, Coconut oil
Blue Ultramarine oxyde, Violet oxyde, Titanium dioxyde and sodium lactate.
I used Peppermint, Lemon and Spearmint EOs.
I finished it off with some teabag leaves.
I noticed, now 5 weeks later, that while it lathers perfectly, it leaks colour. And since I've never had coloured soap in my life, I don't know what to expect when using it and wondered how normal this is. If it is, I can at least let users know what to expect, and if it isn't normal, to expect that it's a mistake in my blending but it's still safe to use.
For what it's worth: I mixed the colours at a tsp to tbsp of almond oil ratio and blended with the milk frother.
See the image below for an example of leaking.
Would love feedback!
Thank you
Vic

Attachments

• IMG_20190413_001024.jpg
    IMG_20190413_001024.jpg
    66 KB · Views: 47
Also, I would get a soap dish that allows proper drainage. It seems as if your bar has been sitting in moisture since it was used and it'll get sticky and leave a layer of soap mush wherever you stick it.

Right, so it sounds like a mix of proper handling and colour mixing. I was pretty certain I used the right ratio, but it could be I used it based on the full weight rather than the split amount I expect to truly mix with.

The general usage rate for micas, if that is what you’re using are 1 tsp. Per pound of oils. Or less. Proper drainage is important for handmade soap.

That's a great instructional video that dibbles posted.