Cold process soap - sweating

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vetiver

Reaction score
Hi soapmakers,

I have my cold process soap in storage and it`s winter here in Australia. I`ve noticed beads of sweat on all of my soaps. I store them in cardboard boxes with 2 holes on each side for ventilation. Will this clear up naturally on its own when the winter ends or what is the best thing to do. I have about 70 soaps in these boxes. I am quite new to soap making so would love to hear from you and your experiences with this.

Thanks,
Tanya

Where in Australia are you ? Has it been raining a lot where you are ? You say your soap is in storage ( do you mean in a storage unit ?)
My soap is sealed and is stored in a cardboard box (no lid), I haven't had any sweating lately and we have had a lot of rain. They are in the laundry stacked on plywood on top of an old bath.

I would put your soap on a rack in the box, take off the lid if there is one and let more air circulate, see of that dries them out.

Last edited:
I`m in Melbourne. The soaps are stored in a storage room inside my house - no heating used in the room. I keep them in stacked boxes on a table. I have some other soap sitting on drying racks outside the boxes and those have more sweat/dew than the ones in the boxes with lids. I thought about covering the boxes with a blanket.

Sounds like the weather could be causing the sweating. I had this happen some years ago when we had rain for weeks on end, I just wiped them down and left them on the racks and they eventually dried out again.