Cold process shampoo bars for thick hair

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alison Bailey

Reaction score
I am a newbie to soap-making, but I am delighted with my first shampoo bar. It lathers well, and gives lots of volume as well as seeming to be quite conditioning, but a few of my friends with very thick hair found it gave too much volume, and don't want to keep using it (and, as a result, some won't even try it!!) Any suggestion as to what oild to change. The recipe was approx 36% Coconut oil, 18% castor oil, 4% cocoa butter, 9% jojoba oil, 13% palm oil, 18% sunflower oil and 5% super fat.
Adice from all you experts please!

If you do a search on the forum, you'll find a lot of information about people's experiences with lye-based shampoo bars. Some use them with good results consistently, but many have tried them and found that they have damaged their hair. I would suggest reading some threads about other people's experiences with them before giving them away. Here are a couple I found with a quick search:

https://www.soapmakingforum.com/threads/shampoo-bars-or-not-to-shampoo-bar.60808/
https://www.soapmakingforum.com/threads/shampoo-bar-thanks-lindy.30946/

And what I searched, so you can find lots more information:

https://www.google.com/search?q=sit...69i57j69i58.6158j0j1&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

speaking from experience with using hair soap and having thick hair: that "volume" is actually hair damage.

SHAMPOO BARS