Coffee soap problems

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nframe

Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I joined this forum only today so don't know my way around yet. I live in London, UK.

I am new to soap making and only started last week. I find it fascinating and have already made three batches, the first two being recipes from a book. As they were very successful, I felt confident and made my own coffee soap concoction. It seemed to be OK and traced without any problems but now there seems to be a wet patch in the middle that does not go away as you can see from the attached photo. The weather is very hot at the moment so I would expect it to dry but it does not seem to. I wonder if the soap is ruined...

My recipe was:
255g coconut oil
595g olive oil
255 strong coffee made with purified water and cooled
116g lye
2 teaspoons clary sage essential oil
45g ground oat flakes
2 tablespoons coffee grounds
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Where did I go wrong?

I would be very grateful if somebody had a minute and could help.

I am not sure what salutations are used on this forum. So, best regards and thanks in anticipation.
Nicole

coffee soap.jpg

Is this a wet patch or just a darker patch in the middle? Is the soap weeping or soft in the middle? It shouldn't be lye heavy because you had between an 8 and 9 percent superfat according to SoapCalc. It looks like a partial gel to me. If it is soft in the middle and stays soft, you might try grating it up and rebatching it.

Is this a wet patch or just a darker patch in the middle? Is the soap weeping or soft in the middle? It shouldn't be lye heavy because you had between an 8 and 9 percent superfat according to SoapCalc. It looks like a partial gel to me. If it is soft in the middle and stays soft, you might try grating it up and rebatching it.

Hello again,