Coconut milk, SoapCalc, confusion, oh my!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soapygoat

Reaction score
Oh yes, yet another coconut milk thread. I wouldn't be surprised if I get asked for clarification. I'm going to do my best to articulate what I'm trying to figure out. I've gone back and read many threads on using coconut milk (wow, there's a lot of them!), and looked at a few links that were included in those posts, but I'm still at a loss.

I've never used coconut milk before, but I'm doing a pineapple papaya FO and thought that using some coconut milk might be nice and in-theme for it. But due to the high fat of the coconut milk, I need to account for it so that my SF isn't ridiculously high. The SF on my soaps is 8%, and I'd like to stick at around that.

So the recipe I'm using (which for oils contains olive, palm, coconut, and sweet almond), which is based on an old recipe, has 21.14 oz. of liquid. Here's where things go wonky, and the problem is certainly on my end and a lack of understanding from me, but I'm not sure what to do.

My coconut milk, which is 22% fat, means that with 21.14 ounces of it, I would be adding 4.65 ounces of fat. Putting all of this into SoapCalc (I put the fat from the coconut milk in as milkfat as I wasn't sure where it should go) SoapCalc says that I need 22.65 ounces of liquids.

Stick with me here. I'm really trying not to confuse us all. Would the calculation for the liquids then look something like this?
22.65 (oz. of liquid) - 4.65 (oz of fat) = 18 ounces of liquid from the coconut milk, so then add 4.65 ounces of water to bring it back up to the correct amount of liquids?

Or would I just add 22.65 ounces of coconut milk and call it good? (*cringe*)