Coconut Milk, Honey, Colloidal Oats Soap Never Traced!! Help!!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nreynolds

Reaction score
Hello all,

So, I am a newbie to the whole CP soap making. I have made 4 pretty great batches, so I tried to challenge myself by making a batch which involved coconut milk, honey, and layering. I did run into problems though. One layer never came to trace, and I ended up burning out the motor of my stick blender because it over heated after using it for 40 minutes straight! Lol. I am going to list my recipe and the method I used, and if anyone has any thoughts on what I did wrong, please let me know!!

Recipe/procedure:
Avocado Oil- 3.37oz (9.76%)
Coconut Oil- 6.73oz (19.51%)
Jojoba Oil- 0.84oz (2.44%)
Olive Oil- 13.46oz (39.02%)
Palm Oil- 6.73oz (19.51%)
Shea Butter- 3.37oz (9.76%)
Lye-4.7 oz.
Distilled H20/liquids 11.4oz

Substituted 5.70 oz of water with Coconut milk (at trace).

2 tablespoons of honey, dissolved into 2 tablespoons of the distilled water I already gathered for my lye water.

Soaped at 75 degrees