Coconut Fragrance Fail

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Love to Soap

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to soap making (since 01/18), and I must say, I am in love with this hobby. I have made some successful batches of soap, and some not so successful (lol), however, I have made Coconut Soap twice, with different recipes, but used coconut milk instead of water. Both recipes produced a great soap bar; good lather, moisturizing and hard, however, the coconut fragrance oil I used, did not make it. The soap smells like a cream, but not like coconut. Is it because I am using coconut milk instead of water? Please Help. Thanks.
Love To Soap

Welcome, Love to Soap! It is as Cellador said- finding a good coconut fragrance oil for soap is a challenge...........actually more than a challenge..........for many of us, it's more like trying to find the Holy Grail! lol Here is a link to one of the best threads we've had here on the subject: https://www.soapmakingforum.com/threads/my-quest-for-coconut.52323/

IrishLass :)

^^^as IL said. Also Coconut FO are notorious for overheating so you really need to make small test batches to see how it acts. At least many of the Coconut fo's I have tried tend to overheat. The Coconut that is popular for is from soapsupplies.net, but it really needs to be made with the hot process method, as it heats up severely.

I read the link above about the testing for coconut oil f.o. My experience is somewhat different. WSP's Coconut Milk made a popular bar of soap for me. True it riced and accelerated and turned medium tan, but I dealt with that nastiness and I got a bar that is still holding scent for well over a year. It is not only coconut but finishes off with a muskiness that people love in lotion and soap. Next time I want to try their Caribbean Coconut because it's supposed to behave.