Cocoa and Shea butter % noob question :)

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scotsoap

Reaction score
Is there an optimum percentage of cocoa butter, shea butter etc to add to your soaps ? I'm thinking you could add too much and get a greasy bar ?

I use A LOT of Shea. And I have never had a greasy bar. Though, my cleansing numbers are around 22 to balance this out. Do you use SoapCalc at all?

Thanks for your answer Lane , no I havent used Soapcalc yet - I have looked at it a lot :) But as I'm a noob I'm not sure quite where to start :)
As yet I am not conversant with say 'standard' percentages of oils for a good all round base soap. I have found a few recipes that look quite good to my inexperienced eye :) and wondered about adding cocoa or shea butters. And then you had to get all technical on me and start talking about cleansing numbers :) Hehehe no doubt one day all this will be second nature to me.

I've not used shea butter in my soap (yet), but I've gone as high as 35% with cocoa butter before and my soap was not greasy at all, just very hard. HTH!

IrishLass

It's O'shea!

I've used shea — but I've never used it alone. I do half shea, and half mango butters in my base recipe. It works out to 10% total. I like it.

I've used 10% cocoa butter.

*Small related hijack*

I have always wanted to use Cocoa butter but I've read you have to do all this "stuff" to it before you use it...like heat it up to like 145 and cook it and smooth it...Does anyone know what I am talking about? :?

Lane said:
*Small related hijack*

I have always wanted to use Cocoa butter but I've read you have to do all this "stuff" to it before you use it...like heat it up to like 145 and cook it and smooth it...Does anyone know what I am talking about? :?