Christmas Soap List!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crunchyaf

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I am brand new to soap making. I've always loved and paid for home made soaps and was so excited to learn on my own. I would like to create holiday soaps for friends and family and was wondering a couple of things, if you could help?

1. I am sending bundles of soaps per family. How many bars do you think is a good amount? Off the top of my head I have about 10 families I would like to give to. A big project for a noob soap maker!

2. I have made so far: 2 loaves of an 'almost castile' hibiscus tea infused soap, 1 loaf of a oatmeal honey soap and one loaf of a lavender and peppermint essential oil sensitive skin soap. So I guess I currently have about 25 bars (I used one for myself and another was messed up when I cut it).

I would like to add some other types to this mix. Maybe a 'masculine scent' one, also calendula (one of my favorites), perhaps a tea tree and activated charcoal. If I make these plus the ones I have I will have about 4 bars per family.

Do you have any wisdom for me as I think out this project?

Many Thanks!

First question: have you used your soap yet? Aka: how new of a soaper are you? If you haven’t used a bar of your own soap by now I would probably stick to melt and pour product. You just don’t want to gift crappy soap if it is in your capabilities not to. Formulating a good soap takes time and multiple batches. But don’t let that discourage you!