Can someone tell me what is going on here?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi! I have a couple identification questions for the experienced soapers here. I am a newbie so I am trying out various recipes to see how different oils, colors, etc work together. I made a 1lb loaf of a Bastille and a few things happened I was just wondering about. My recipe was (ran through Soap Calc) was:

Water - 4.9oz
Lye - 1.7oz
Castor Oil - .6oz
Olive Oil - 6.5oz (50%)
Shea Butter - .6oz
Coconut Oil (76 degrees) - 2.6oz
Palm Oil - 2.6 Oz
Tuberose FO - .5 oz
1 tsp Aqua Pearl Mica
1 tsp ground loofah
1 tsp sodium lactate
7% superfat

Technique applied - Celine Swirl (first time)

I was expecting a little trace acceleration as I had been told floral FO can accelerate. This did not happen. However, once I separated the batter so that I could color half of it, the non-colored half began to rice (the half with the mica mixed in never did). I stick blended till smooth and was able to do the swirl.

I did not insulate but it gelled anyway (I will be using the fridge or freezer after this as I prefer an ungelled look). And I noticed the top turned all wrinkly. See top photo. Was this because it got so hot, is this normal for Bastille soap? I also noticed that, after curing (see close up photo) there are white specks or streaks or something. Is that also from the temperature? I have noticed it in a couple other loaves I have made and was wondering if there is anything to do to stop that. Or perhaps it is just the ground loofah. I am more concerned with the wrinkles in the top. I have zap tested and I am not lye heavy.

Thanks in advance!

*Edit for spelling*

Bastile Wrinkled Top.jpg

Bastile Close Up.jpg

Bastile Cure.jpg

Last edited:
The fragrance oil is probably what made it overheat. If it doesn't zap it should be perfectly fine to use.