Can I use Vitamin E To Extend my Oils, or should I use something else

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I ask this question about being able to use Vitamin E as an extender of my oils because I do NOT Like the smell of Rosemary oil in ALL My oils. Some oils I want to keep the integrity of the natural scent of the oil without giving ALL My oils the scent of Rosemary. I love Rosemary oil, but I also like Donuts, and I do not want my Donuts tasting like or smelling like Rosemary. Get my point? So I was wondering if Vit. E could be used to extend the life of my oils...I have lots of it. Thanks, I appreciate all the help as I am new to soap making. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!
Kristian

Are you using rosemary essential oil? If so, that is the wrong product. You want rosemary oleoresin (ROE). It doesn't smell at all like rosemary EO, and the amount used is so small that there is no detectable smell in my oils at all.

To answer your question, yes, you can use mixed tocopherols (Vitamin E) but it is not as effective as ROE.

OH WOW!!! You just Saved me from making a HUGE Mistake!!! Yes, I started adding rosemary essential oil to 2 of my oils and did NOT want everything else I had to smell like rosemarry. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! I do NOT Have any rosemary oleoresin (ROE) and I will buy some now SOON. Where is the BEST Place for me to buy some at please. I am just getting started with ALL Things bath and body and could use the help. I do not want to break the bank. I already spent over a hundred on oils and this NEW Hobby is getting pricy....lol. I am willing to buy what is needed though to get this right. THANK YOU!!

So glad you asked the question! @DeeAnna's page will give you all the technical info you need to know about how to use it. It is a VERY small percentage - be careful with the decimal points!