Can I just mix all the additives into 1 bottle?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jennifer2k89

Reaction score
Hi there, I'm new to this forum so forgive me if this have been ask before.

Anyways... so I know this sounds completely lazy, but is it possible to just mix everything together?

For example... I have aloe liquid, vitamin c liquid, almond oil, and so on. Now everytime I go and make my soaps, I have to pull out all of these bottles; measure each one (about 1 teaspooon) and then pour them into my soap. Is it ok if I just mix all of these LIQuid additives into a bottle, and then just pou in a total of 3 teaspoon? Or is this bad?

Also; my soap makes me skin a bit itchy and dry. I have the brambleberry honey and goat milk base. Is that right? Is there a way to fix this?

Hi Jennifer,

I am relatively new to this as well so I can only tell you what I "think"

For me when it comes to melt and pour base, less is more. Meaning you have to be careful with all the additives your adding to the base. How much base (lbs) do you put 3 teaspoons of your oils into? The general "limit" is 1 tablespoon of additives per lb of base. Also I once added aloe gel to my base and it gave me dry skin, but it could have been the particular fragrance I used as well.

Do you mean vitamin E liquid instead of C?

Are you putting fragrance in your soap? And how much? I find some fragrances to be great, and others leave me a bit dry so it all depends on what your skin tolerates.

Yeah, I'll definitely keep the total amount below 1 tablespoon. Just wondering though... if the lather does become inhibited due to the amount of oils I add; can I just add more coconut oil (I heard that it's suppose to create the lather?)