Camel Fat Soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HoliHealerz

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I always benefit from all the help you share here but I have never posted. I am quite new to all this soapy stuff. Only under 4 months. However, I do make my base with about or over 80% tallow usually and have incorporated 25% camel fat. Its very conditioning and the bubbles are great even without any coconut oil and castor. Now I use both castor and coconut less than 5% CO and even less castor, but it was both cleansing and bubbly without. Not only that but I did read somewhere that camel can be substituted for coconut oil but they didn't say where. So I thought I will try out 100% camel and let you all know how it goes. In addition, it makes an amazing and silky cream. Thank you for sharing the vinegar tip, can I add silica gel at this point too? Thanks in advance. @Holi_Healerz.

Wow, all very interesting. I am not sure that camel fat is readily available where I live, but if I ever see any at a good price, based on your review, I'll be sure to nab some. :)

I've never added silica gel to my soap, so while we are waiting for someone else to chime in on that, would you mind sharing the purpose of adding silica gel to CP soap? Thanks, and welcome!

The lack of camel fat where I live gives me the hump..........

Edit - of course many oils can give a bubbly bar that gets you clean, which is why the terms on the soap calcs can be very misleading. A single oil soap with a cleansing of 0 on a calc will still very much get you clean. Would be interesting to play with some camel fat

Carolyn ( @cmzaha ) has made soap with camel fat, if I recall correctly. Perhaps she will share her perspective.

What are the benefits of adding silica gel to soap? That's a new one for me.