Brittle hard soap. Help!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MargoGalloway

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm new to soap making and attended a soap making workshop a couple of weeks ago. Loved it!

Being inspired I gathered ingredients straight away and made my first batches.

Made lemon and coconut with dried microplaned lemon rind and desiccated coconut which seemed to turn out of the moulds just fine. A little on the soft side but I'm hoping it will firm up as it dries.

Then I made some that I added tumeric and oatmeal to which sliced up nicely and again hopefully as it cures should harden up.

The last batch I made is my problem. I thought I would be clever and use Earl Grey tea to make the lye. Turned it out of the mould and it just crumbled when I tried to cut it.

Used exactly the same amounts of oils and lye as the other batches, so could it be the fact that I used tea instead of plain water that would have made the difference?

How can I reuse or remake this soap as I hate to waste it?

Looking forward to some sage advice

Margo

can you please post your exact recipe and what you did when making the soap. that'll give us a better idea. i don't soap with tea a lot, but the few batches i made with tea as a full liquid swap came out fine.

Hey and welcome! We also need to know whether you have a digital scale and whether you have verified its accuracy lately. A nickel weighs 5 grams, so you can verify that easily. I have soaped with tea for water also, and no problems happened, so it should be some other factor.

OK The recipe I used was the one I got at the workshop and it seemed to work with the other batches but here it is:

750 gms Olive Oil
250 gms Coconut Oil (We used Copha)
139 gms caustic soda (sodium hydroxide)
375 gms water which I substituted for tea.