Bread proofer for gel phase

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TrishNZ

Reaction score
Hi
I am new at this game and been reading about the gel phase in CP soap. A question - Would a bread proofer be an advantage in keeping soap warm in this stage? The one I have has this range of temps 70-120 °F / 21–49 °C
If so how long would you keep it in the proofer.

I think it would work just fine! How fortunate that you have one. How effective it would be to encourage gel would depend on a couple of things: soaping temperatures to start and the particular formulas for your soap.

For example, when I soap cool with low water, my soap doesn't always gel even when in an oven just a tad warmer than your proofer's highest temperature. But if I soap a little warmer and with a little more water, gel comes easier. So I say, give it a try and report back how it works for you.

Specifically, (a few days ago) I soaped 2 batches at room temperature (76° F) and using [40% Lye Concentration] then CPOP's overnight. They both only reached partial gel. So after cutting I stuck them back in a warmer oven for a few hours and the finished gelling, Then yesterday I made the same recipes again, but with closer to 33% Lye Concentration, soaped warmer to start (about 85-90° F)and they both gelled without difficulty, but still my oven temperature was higher than 120° (about 145° to start, then turned off.)

Thinking on it. The only way I could prove it works or not, would be to try two batches of the same soap and use one as a control and the other in the proofer. Bit difficult with only one mold!

Masterbatch both oil and lye, the split each of them, weighing to be sure you've got equal amounts. Do two batches, back to back, making sure your ingredient temps are the same with both batches. Take lots of pictures and notes, and compare results.