Best mold for GM

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JusDin

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie and I've just been lurking for the past couple of weeks, soaking up all the great info available here. You all are great and I've learned so much! I only have 2 batches CP under my belt, but I can already tell this is going to be a near obsession for me.

Anyway my question is about molds....I've only done GM so far, and most of what I will do in the near future will be GM (I have dairy goats and froze GALLONS of milk in anticipation of soapmaking). I've been using single cavity molds but I'm not thrilled with that. I'd like to get more of a production mold of some sort. Do I need to stick with a slab mold with GM soap to minimize volume to aid in avoiding gelling? If so, does anybody have any suggestions/opinions/experience that they want to share on what mold or brand in particular I should consider?

You can use a log loaf mold. To avoid gelling you can chill a heavy wood mold in the freezer prior to pouring the soap, and then after pouring stick the soap into the fridge or freezer for 24 hours.

I like using my slab mold for milk soaps. At least i dont have to worry about partial gel with that mold.

I'll probably try the log mold, just afraid I'll get a partial gel in the center and the soaps will be sort of wonky looking after I cut. My MIL always gives me money for Christmas so I think I'm in the market for both a slab mold and a log mold. I'd like to think I could go with something I don't have to line...any suggestions on your favorites? I noticed Essential Depot has an awesome sale on their silicone loaf molds right now....any input from anyone? Any favorite slab mold?

You could try a freestanding silicone mold which dissipates the heat faster than wood. BB and WSP carry them.