Best Chelator/anti DOS ingredients

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi! I am just wondering what everyone prefers to use as additives to prevent DOS, as well as to use in "hard water areas" for better lather and less soap scum? I know that EDTA is commonly used, but are there other choices that you use and prefer? Thanks for any help! :)

My recipe is not prone to DOS, but a lot of my family members, aka primary recipients of my soaps, live in hard water areas. Their feedback is that the chelator makes a big difference in the amount of lather (more) and soap scum (less).

I use either citric acid or sodium citrate as a chelator. I prefer the citrate because it doesn't require any lye adjustments.

I formulated a good recipe that is not prone to DOS.
Good answer. I've been soaping since 2003-4 and have never had DOS. I'm not sure why. :smallshrug:
You can also use rosemary oleoresin (ROE) in your oils for added protection.
Good advice. :thumbup: I add ROE and Vitamin E to every batch and have done so since the very beginning.

Last edited:
I don't use chelators in my soaps. I formulated a good recipe that is not prone to DOS.
If I do ever decide to use a chelator, I will probably go with GLDA
Thank you!

My recipe is not prone to DOS, but a lot of my family members, aka primary recipients of my soaps, live in hard water areas. Their feedback is that the chelator makes a big difference in the amount of lather (more) and soap scum (less).

I use either citric acid or sodium citrate as a chelator. I prefer the citrate because it doesn't require any lye adjustments.
Perfect! Thank you...think I will order some right now.

I use sodium citrate.Perfect! Thank you. Have ordered some now to try.