Beginner soap maker...first attempt.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

B.T.E.

Reaction score
Hello Soapers!!! I’m a new beginner soap maker. This is my first attempt along with some help. I think it turned out pretty decent but I think it’s in gelling phase. 1st bar is Pure Olive oil (soap without lines) and second is olive oil, coconut oil, lemongrass, and rosemary ( soap with lines and white powder on flowers)

Attachments

• EE046B1B-48D2-4FDE-BC6A-9D03BFEA06D6.jpeg
    EE046B1B-48D2-4FDE-BC6A-9D03BFEA06D6.jpeg
    94.9 KB · Views: 43
  • A97A2644-855A-448A-A09B-DA9B5D6EE7CD.jpeg
    A97A2644-855A-448A-A09B-DA9B5D6EE7CD.jpeg
    80.4 KB · Views: 43
  • 49590B20-C1EC-4FA4-A2DD-CB685B43C2BA.jpeg
    49590B20-C1EC-4FA4-A2DD-CB685B43C2BA.jpeg
    89.7 KB · Views: 44
  • 19FBAA08-554D-4BFD-BD95-AA8565247837.jpeg
    19FBAA08-554D-4BFD-BD95-AA8565247837.jpeg
    83 KB · Views: 44
Thanks for the feedback.

They look great! The OO soap looks like it has stearic spots which can be avoided in future by soaping a little warmer, if they worry you.

I’m still new to this but what do you mean by soaping a little warmer? Have the water at a warmer temp when mixing with the lye or have them in a warmer spot when in the mold?

Congratulations! The white powder is ash. It can be rinsed off. It's only cosmetic and won't affect the soap at all.

Thanks for the feedback!!!

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for the feedback.

I’m still new to this but what do you mean by soaping a little warmer? Have the water at a warmer temp when mixing with the lye or have them in a warmer spot when in the mold?
Do you have a laser thermometer?
To get rid of stearic spots you need to mix your soap batter at at temp that is warm enough to ensure the spots don’t form.