Bees wax! Lots of bees wax!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MirandaH

Reaction score
I hope I am doing this right, I have never used the app before.

I am in SC with my wonderful hubby and he owns a tree company. While doing a job this morning, he going a HUGE honeybee hive in a tree. Well post pics later. The homeowner's response was "Just get it out of here!" Hubby had me come to the house and now we have both been sung, multiple times, but we have two garbage bags full of honey and bees wax. Needless to say, the combs are not in their pristine condition anymore for the most part. Can I do anything with it? Anyone have any idea how to get the honey and wax separated?

Start by lining a colander with cheesecloth or using a mesh strainer. Crush the beeswax either by hand or placing it in the strainer then mashing with the back of a spoon. Keep adding/mashing til strainer is full. Set wax aside in a large container that is clean enough to eat out of. The rest of the honey will drip out over time. Repeat above until you finish. Re-strain honey a few times(2-3 depending on clarity) until you get something you are willing to eat. After a few days, you can repeat with the honey that settles on the bottom from the wax you set aside.

Once you have all the honey you want to fool with out of the wax(you will never get it all), break up the wax and put into a pot that you are never going to use again for anything but beeswax with half a pot of water on bottom. Cover and bring to boil, then uncover and simmer til all wax is melted. Stir while this is melting. Set in cool place, cover and let harden over night. In the morning, remove the chunk of wax and scrape the propolis off the bottom(brown and black junk). Get clean, fresh water and repeat melting, setting aside, scraping until you get NOTHING but clean, pure wax.