Batch Seizure?? Help Discerning Why?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I was attempting a simple in the pot swirl with a recipe I have used before and colorants I have used before. I used 50% tea tree oil and 50% lavender essential oil as the fragrance. I had used this lavendar before and it performed fine. I have never used tea tree before. The recipe is as follows.

Soaped at 100°F

Beef Tallow: 25% 8.88 oz
Coconut Oil: 25% 8.88 oz
Pomace Olive Oil: 30% 10.65 oz
Avocado Oil: 15% 5.32 oz
Castor Oil: 5% 1.78 oz

30% Lye Concentration/2.333:1 Lye:water
Lye: 4.99 oz
Water: 10 oz
Aloe Vera Gel: 1.73 oz (included in water amount but added to cooled oils)

Tussah silk dissolved in lye water
2 tsp sodium lactate to cooled lye water
1 oz tea tree essential oil
1 oz lavendar essential oil

1/2 tsp Mad Micas Snake island in sweet almond oil added to 1/3 of batter after trace but before fragrance

1/2 tsp TD dispersed in sweat almond oil added to 2/3 batter after trace but before fragrance.

Stick blended entire batter very briefly, just to barely trace. Split batter.

Hand stirred in colorants with spatula.

Hand stirred in fragrances with spatula.

Everything was behaving beautifully until I added the essential oils. I was hand stirring them in with a spatula when they immediately began to rice and started to seize. I pretty much threw the green mix into the white mix immediately upon seeing this, stirred once, and threw it into the mold before it turned into soap on a stick.

The soap itself is going to be lumpy as heck when I cut into it and will likely looked like speckled clumps. I attempted to salvage the top by leveling it off with a flat spatula and then mashing dried lavender buds into the top to hide the lumps. It's going to look like a disaster when cut.