Batch 1 - HP success

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Anglezarke

Reaction score
Hi, first post and first batch made.

So, I took it real slow, and ordered a copy of Melinda Coss's excellent Natural Soap. I studied the sections on oils, fats and butters, the equipment list, the saponification chart, superfatting theort section and of course the recipes. I then bought the bits I needed - a new stick blender and dedicated crock pot (or slow cooker as they are called here).

I watched and re-watched the excellent Homemaking on the Homestead video and decided that I would adapt a Natural Soap CP recipe and go crockpot HP.

I wanted to understand the science so I decided to alter the default recipe I had, which called for an even mix of coconut, palm and olive oils. Instead, one of Melinda's recipes had a good proportion of (sweet) almond oil, which was said to give a white bar. Besides, I didn't have any olive oil and was keen to start. So I went for a mix of:

400g Coconut Oil
300g Palm Oil
300g Sweet Almond Oil

I ran through Soap Queen's lye calculator and decided to superfat at 3% after considering Melinda's take on this. This gave me:

330g Water
150g Lye

I used tap water that I let stand overnight to evaporate any residual chlorine.

I then planned oils and did a few tests of blends on paper. One I found online which blended great was a three way blend which I read can be maxxed at 15ml per batch.

5ml Neroli
5ml Bergamot
5ml Geranium

For accuracy, I used a dropper into the essential oil bottles and decanted into a small measuring jug / shot glass thing, which is almost to the ml. The essential oils were the only ingredients I didn't weigh, because I understand that's wrong.