$/Bar

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Do any of you home/amateur soapers calculate or have a target cost/bar? How much is too much? What’s reasonable? Last I calculated, I seem to recall I was running between $1.50 and $1.90, depending on the EOs used. Is that even in the ballpark? Note: This figure does not calculate the cost waste, and I seldom totally lose a soap. As I said in another thread, “worst case I can usually use them myself as kitchen soap, foot scrubber soap, dog soap...something”

You're asking about retail? Or if we put our soap on a budget and won't make a soap that costs more than a set price to make - whether we sell or give away?

Last edited:
I'm not an amateur... been at it too long for that... but I am a hobbyist, so I don't think 1.50 - 1.80 is too much for personal use... especially if using essential oils. When in the creative zone, the sky's the limit! If you like pricey Babassu oil vs. pennywise Lard/Tallow, go for it. Once you develop a basic bar, you can feature as little as 5% of an additive, exotic oil or butter to create a "specialty" bar without adding much cost to a bar.

Last edited:
You're asking about retail? Or if we put our soap on a budget and won't make a soap that costs more than a set price to make - whether we sell or give away?
Budget. Lol. Been trying to do this with my beloved
Do any of you home/amateur soapers calculate or have a target cost/bar? How much is too much? What’s reasonable? Last I calculated, I seem to recall I was running between $1.50 and $1.90, depending on the EOs used. Is that even in the ballpark? Note: This figure does not calculate the cost waste, and I seldom totally lose a soap. As I said in another thread, “worst case I can usually use them myself as kitchen soap, foot scrubber soap, dog soap...something”