Arnica oil SAP value and properties?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Br93lx

Reaction score
Hi! I’m new to the soap world. What started as a science experiment last year with homeschooling has grown into a big interest of mine. As my DH has been having a lot of aches and pain, I’ve thought that Arnica oil may have some nice qualities in a soap. Has any one used arnica oil in their soaps? I can’t seem to find the saponification value anywhere. In lue of that information, I’m may add it at trace for a superfatting effect. I would love any information you guys have on arnica oil and any recommendations on how to use it in the soaping process.

Arnica itself isn't an oil. The flowers are infused in a carrier oil. The sap value of arnica oil is the sap value for the carrier oil.

Don't expect the medicinal properties of arnica to survive saponification. Unless you can find scientific studies to prove these properties do survive, there are no guarantees this happens.

Even if we assume arnica does survive being exposed to lye, you have to also consider how soap is used. Most people soap up and rinse off, so the suds are only on the skin for seconds at best. You're probably going to get greater benefits from a leave-on product.

Just because arnica is an herbal remedy doesn't mean it's harmless -- arnica can cause unintended side effects if used indiscriminately. It's best to use it in a targeted way -- only where it's needed. Caution When Using Arnica Products

It's a myth that adding ingredients at trace will protect them from the lye -- saponification is only getting started at that point.