Anyone here a cheese maker?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm just getting into making cheese. So far I've make goat milk chèvre with herbs that was wonderful and queso fresco that taste similar to cottage cheese.
I got my mini fridge today and get it set up for a cheese cave so now I can make some proper aged cheese. My first will be butterkäse, I'll probably make it in a day or two. It only has to mature for a month, so I won't have to be patient for long.
The second will be gruyère. Its more complicated and take 4-6 months to mature. I've ever tasted it but its supposed to be good.
I'd like to make gouda, havarti, tilsit and brie in the future.

My daughter has been making cheese for a few years. She started with ricotta and mozzarella. She has made parmesan and cheddar, and she was talking about swiss but I can't remember if she made that or not. Gruyere is delicious :)

OMG That sounds so yummy! Is it difficult? I think cheese is my favorite food.

Can you explain the process?

Not terribly difficult but you have to really watch temps and time. The proccess is a bit too lomg to explain. This video shows a very simple cheese, its the first pressed cheese I made and it was yummy. Next time I think I'll add some cranberries.

I make cheese when my cow is milking. The New England Cheese Making Supply Co. is a good source for supplies and recipes. I got a recipe for lactic cheese from their newsletter.

My daughter has been making cheese for a few years. She started with ricotta and mozzarella. She has made parmesan and cheddar, and she was talking about swiss but I can't remember if she made that or not. Gruyere is delicious :)