Quantcast

Another one bites the dust...???

SoapMakingForum

Help Support SoapMakingForum:

Annmarie0407

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
120
Reaction score
0
Location
Orange County, CA...but from NY, FL, NJ
I made a batch of soap last night . I opened it tonight and it was like thick jello. I am not sure if it is because I did not use enough lye???

Anyway, I read on Miller soap website that I could rebatch this soap using my crockpot. Miller soap also said to add lye to cold water and then add that mixture to the crockpot rebatch.

My question is ......when do I add this lye(to the rebatch)?
 

MikeInPdx

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
1,090
Reaction score
21
Do you have the recipe you used, and do you remember how much lye you used? Because, if you don't, I wouldn't recommend rebatching. Lye isn't a hit or miss kind of thing and I would hate to see you make a lye heavy rebatch that could injure you.

Better to throw it out and start with new ingredients. I'm not trying to sound negative just want you to be safe.
 

Annmarie0407

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
120
Reaction score
0
Location
Orange County, CA...but from NY, FL, NJ
Thank you. Ya know, after reading your post...I decided to say the heck with this batch. I just took it out of the crock pot and threw it against the wall(just kidding). I agree with you when you talk about the danger of lye.

If it were and oil issue, I would rebatch...but when its lye, I rather not risk injury.

Thank you....you may have saved me
 

Woodi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2007
Messages
885
Reaction score
8
Location
Ontario, Canada
Before my hubby and I created the SoapMaker program, I lost a lot of money making bad batches of soap (lye heavy, too much water etc....). With this program, which shows you more or less how the soap will turn out before you make it, you can save yourself the trouble of ruined batches.

It's free for the first month. Good luck!
 

soap_lady

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
92
Reaction score
5
I'm glad you threw it out, it's just not safe,

But my other question is if you ran your recipe through a lye calc (as you should before using any and every recipe to know it's correct and safe) why would you think you didn't have enough lye.

Also never trust a recipe that says to use measurements such as a cup of lye, and 3/4 cup olive oil, etc...... they are unsafe and you need to actually weigh out all your ingredients on a scale. I highly recommend a digital scale and one that will weigh in grams. Since there are 28 grams to the ounces I feel that it's more accurate than weighing in ounces.

I highly suggest learning how to use soapcalc to your advantage to make the most of the program. (It's forever FREE and also gives you a set of numbers so you can check it with the recommended range of numbers to get a good idea of how your recipe will turn out before you begin making it.)
http://www.soapcalc.com/calc/soapcalcWP.asp
 

IanT

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
4,699
Reaction score
56
soap_lady said:
I'm glad you threw it out, it's just not safe,

But my other question is if you ran your recipe through a lye calc (as you should before using any and every recipe to know it's correct and safe) why would you think you didn't have enough lye.

Also never trust a recipe that says to use measurements such as a cup of lye, and 3/4 cup olive oil, etc...... they are unsafe and you need to actually weigh out all your ingredients on a scale. I highly recommend a digital scale and one that will weigh in grams. Since there are 28 grams to the ounces I feel that it's more accurate than weighing in ounces.

I highly suggest learning how to use soapcalc to your advantage to make the most of the program. (It's forever FREE and also gives you a set of numbers so you can check it with the recommended range of numbers to get a good idea of how your recipe will turn out before you begin making it.)
http://www.soapcalc.com/calc/soapcalcWP.asp
Great advice...want to add just a side note.... dont trust ANY recipe you find online or elsewhere even if people say it has been tested unless you run it through a calc yourself!...

its the only way to be sure youll be dealing with a safe soap in the end :)
 

digit

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,373
Reaction score
3
Woodi said:
Before my hubby and I created the SoapMaker program, I lost a lot of money making bad batches of soap (lye heavy, too much water etc....). With this program, which shows you more or less how the soap will turn out before you make it, you can save yourself the trouble of ruined batches.

It's free for the first month. Good luck!
Great program. With the free test drive, there is nothing to lose. :D

Digit
 

Rebelshope

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
54
Reaction score
0
Location
Chicago
Woodi said:
Before my hubby and I created the SoapMaker program, I lost a lot of money making bad batches of soap (lye heavy, too much water etc....). With this program, which shows you more or less how the soap will turn out before you make it, you can save yourself the trouble of ruined batches.

It's free for the first month. Good luck!
Too bad it is not for Macs. Looks interesting.
 

digit

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,373
Reaction score
3
Rebelshope said:
Too bad it is not for Macs. Looks interesting.
For Soapmaker, on the first page http://www.soapmaker.ca/ at the bottom, there is a link that says "Information for MAC users". I am sure if you have questions, Woodi will answer them. I asked her several before I bought it.

While this program does cost, it has some things that Soapcalc (excellent program also) does not offer, such as the inventory and bar cost calcs, to name a few.

It comes down to what do you need/want from a program. Honestly, I probably would not have purchased without the free trial to see if I thought it would benefit me or suit my needs. I am happy to say it did and so I did. :D

Digit
 

Latest posts

Top