Alternative oils advice

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soaplassie

Reaction score
Hi
I’m new to soap making having recently been on a course near me. I live in the uk. We made a couple of soap blocks from the same basic recipe and they turned out fine. The ingredients we used are listed below.

Solid oils:
Rapeseed oil 13%
Coconut oil 32%

Liquid oils:
Olive oil 35%
Sunflower oil 12%
Caster oil 8%

With a 33% lye concentration and 4% essential oil this was enough to fill a 440g plastic food tray.

I have 2 questions:
While it was a lovely bar of soap it did go down quite quickly. The hardness was 33 ( range 29-54) according to soapcalc.net. What other oil combinations could I use to get it to last a bit longer?

We used solid rapeseed oil but I have been unable to source this and had no joy from the course organisers about where I can get hold of more. I have used liquid rapeseed oil instead in another batch which seemed to work ok. What else could I use? I would welcome any oil combinations others feel work well.

Many thanks

Hello and welcome! You're using a higher amount of CO and CO is pretty soluble in soap. Also, having mostly liquid oils as well. You can make a harder, longer lasting bar by using palm, tallow or lard. Some use soy wax.

How old is your soap? A good cure will make it last longer too. Letting it dry between uses well drained is important at well.

Hi
Thanks for your reply. I have been letting it cure for 4-6 weeks. Thanks for the storing in between uses advice.

I’m a vegetarian so lard and tallow are not options for me. I’m also not keen on using palm oil. Could you recommend other oils with a lower CO. I’m not sure what you mean by CO?

Hi
Thanks for your reply. I have been letting it cure for 4-6 weeks. Thanks for the storing in between uses advice.