Aloe Vera gel - Feedback welcome

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dneto

Reaction score
Hi !
So, I'm new at this soap making thing. I was trying to do a soap using Aloe Vera gel directly extracted from the plant. I read that I could do a 50water/50aloe gel. Does it mean that in a recipe with for exemple 100g of water I could do a 50 g of water and 50 g of Aloe Vera gel right ? If so, how do I incorporate the gel in the batch, should I put it in the water before I add the lys or should I mix the lye with the 50g of water and then add the gel after the lye water and oils are mixed ?
Sorry if my English isn't good.
Best regards from Portugal :)

You are understanding it correctly for 50/50. There's a number of ways you could do add the gel.
1. Combine water and gel, add lye.
2. As you said, dissolve lye in water, add to oils, add gel after mixing. Just make sure you have enough water to dissolve the lye. Lye requires an equal amount of water/liquid in order to dissolve. e.g. you would not want to use 55g lye in 50g water.
3. You could also add the gel to your oils before adding the water/lye.

#3 is how I do it.

You are understanding it correctly for 50/50. There's a number of ways you could do add the gel.
1. Combine water and gel, add lye.
2. As you said, dissolve lye in water, add to oils, add gel after mixing. Just make sure you have enough water to dissolve the lye. Lye requires an equal amount of water/liquid in order to dissolve. e.g. you would not want to use 55g lye in 50g water.
3. You could also add the gel to your oils before adding the water/lye.

#3 is how I do it.

Thanks ! So u use this 50/50 method or another ? Like 60%water/40% aloe gel... Cause I'm afraid of using just half of the liquid that I should to dissolve the NaOH