Ahh newbie issues...

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave J.

Reaction score
Alright mabye not a complete newbie but, Im darn close lol. I make candles for fun and some friends offered me a few bucks for 6 candles. All candles are going to be 8oz so i figured .5oz sent per candle. I am makeing a strawberry melon cucumber blend. A double vanillla bled (Reg and french she loves vanilla who knew) 2 honeysuckle candles a fresh linen and a lilac. I have a few questions I am having issues getting answers for. How can I improve my scent throw without causing wicking issues. I should be near that 6% ratio. Also I have been super glueing buttons I ran the wick through to the bottoms of my jars as holders would it be possable to use some cooled wax or would it just come loose because of the already hot wax pouring in. Finally I want to speed up my process a little could I heat a large batch of wax pour it into my containers and mix the scents in there. It sounds lazy but, I think that may speed things up a ton. I believe that would mean i would have to find a reliable meathid of placing a wick in a jar full of hit wax and keeping the wick straight and true. Idk. Mabye I should just do them one at a time. Please help Im goimg nuts lol.

Sorry for all the bad grammer. I had to type this on a phone and I have big hands lol

Last edited by a moderator:
If you are getting paid for a product I would make sure it's done correctly. You say you are doing it for fun and by what you have said you are winging it. You need to research how to make candles, google candle supplies in your state and see what comes up, they should be able to give you direction. eg.www.candlescience.com