African soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jbluedun

Reaction score
I have been volunteering in Uganda, training refugees in baking (I've been a baker for 45+ years). I've spent two of the past 12 months there, on three separate visits. During my second visit in March, there was a newspaper headline about the rapidly rising cost of soap, due to a shortage of palm oil. I've met refugees who have not had a single bar of soap in over five months. On a third visit to the refugee settlement last month, I brought along 40 bars of soap that I made to give out as gifts. It was eagerly snatched up. I told the refugee bakers that if I could get a recipe for a Ugandan soap, I would try to make it at home and if successful, I would teach it on my next visit. Any product that is both useful and a possible source of income is valuable, and soap is all of that. I've not had luck finding a recipe. Does anyone have one they would share?
Thanks,
Jeffrey Hamelman
Vermont

It's great that you're trying to help, however I'm curious why it would need to be a specifically Ugandan recipe?

Isn't it just a matter of figuring out which oils or fats are readily available to your target audience, deciding which of them are suitable for soaping, and developing a basic recipe using those. Or am I missing something?

Hello @jbluedun,