Advice on getting rid of that "squeaky clean" feeling?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BearandCat

Reaction score
Hey folks. Been lurking for a while and decided to make my first post. I'm extremely new to soapmaking, made my first successful batch about a week and some change ago. Grabbed a small scrap of it to test at home today and, while it bubbles and smells great, it gives that tight, squeaky feeling at the end that I dislike.

Here's my recipe + percentages:

Olive oil 40%
Coconut oil 30%
Palm oil 20%
Castor oil 5%
Sweet Almond Oil 5%
5% superfat

35% lye concentration

Would upping the superfat to around 8% be any good? I'd like my bars to feel creamy, bubbly and smooth and to minimize that tightness as much as possible. Also, I obviously didn't let the soap cure for 4 to 6 weeks before testing a scrap of it, but I'm not sure that makes any difference in terms of tightness.

Would appreciate any advice you folks have to give! Thanks!

Edit: After looking around here, people have mentioned using a chelator (a term I'm unfamiliar with). Citric acid would be one. Say I'm making a 37oz batch, how much citric acid would I end up using?

Last edited:
Hi BearandCat! :)

I would wait at least 4 to 6 weeks of cure before deciding to tweak your formula. It often sounds crazy to those new to the craft, but it is truly amazing what a 4 to 6 weeks cure will do in terms of how different a soap behaves and feel to ones skin as compared to a 2-week or less cure. Although on the surface of things, soap doesn't look like it's doing all that much when on the curing rack, there's a lot of residual chemical reactions still going on inside that can turn a pretty darn skin-drying/tightening, barely lathering 2 week old soap into a a very skin friendly, lusciously lathering soap at 4 to 6 weeks.