Advice needed! My candle keeps going out!!!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Megan Brown

Reaction score
Hello! (Please see pics they may help work out the problem!)
I am new to candle making and made my first ever candle last week.
I have made it using soy wax and EOs (Myrhh, Cinnamon Bark and blood orange) and am very happy with the cold scent throw and also the hot. I have made these candles small to start with so I can trial them. They are in 30ml glass jars.
On the third evening of burning (last night) the candle suddenly went out (with a green flash!). I relit it and the flame was very weak and quickly went out. I believe the wax was putting the flame out... the wax seemed quite high. I poured some wax out, the candle stay lit for a bit longer and then went out again.
Why is this happening? I should definitely mention that my wick is a cotton wick coated in PARAFFIN wax and I am wondering whether this is the problem... the strange thing is that it's only started going out after it has reached half way down the jar. I have had no other issues the other two nights.
Any help would be amazing!

Attachments

• Photo on 2018-11-04 at 9.30 AM #2.jpg
    Photo on 2018-11-04 at 9.30 AM #2.jpg
    74.6 KB · Views: 28
  • Photo on 2018-11-04 at 9.30 AM.jpg
    Photo on 2018-11-04 at 9.30 AM.jpg
    69.5 KB · Views: 24
  • Photo on 2018-11-04 at 9.31 AM.jpg
    Photo on 2018-11-04 at 9.31 AM.jpg
    64.8 KB · Views: 22
Welcome Megan, as this is your first post, would you like to go to the Intro section and tell us a bit about yourself and how you got into candles.

Sounds like it's drowning out from the wick being too big. try with a smaller wick.