Advice for a new soap maker

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bex1980

Reaction score
Hi, I'm completely new to soap making and loving it. I've watched many YouTube videos and read what I can but I have a few questions if anyone could help me. I've made 3 batches with goats milk which I'm very proud of and I think they look ok. I'd like to know, how much essential oil do I use? I've followed measurements as accurately as possible but my soap doesn't smell of much. I'm using safety gear but is it only the water and lye liquid mixture that burns or does the cooler sloppy trace stuff you put in the mould burn too? Also, when washing stuff up and putting the dry soap into storage, I have a slimy film on my hands which is really hard to wash off. Does the finished product leave this slime on your hands and is that a normal part of homemade soap? If I accidentally add the wrong amount of lye, can the finished soap burn anyone who uses it (if I were to give it as gifts etc). I'm struggling to get my head around a mixture that burns eventually being safe enough to use as soap on your skin and can I ever do anything wrong in my soap that could hurt somebody. Thank you. x

1. Most fragrance suppliers who carry EOs will have a calculator somewhere on their website.

2. Wait a day or two before cleaning up-- that way, the batter will turn into soap. Also, use a grease-cutting detergent like Dawn and hot water to wash up. I sometimes also use vinegar and/or baking soda.

3. If you're concerned about lye, wear gloves when you clean up.

@Bex1980

The type of EO you use makes a difference. All EOs tend to fade in cp soap, some faster than others. Search for the type of EO you are using here on SMF to learn more about it.