Acrylic paint for soap coloring?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maddie

Reaction score
I'm an art student and I have a few ideas for a show I'm doing in a few days. The soap wont be used at all, I'm just wondering if acrylic paint would mess with the texture or setting time of a clear glycerin soap? If anyone has ideas all are welcome- the only reason I'm using paint instead of something like a dye is because I can't find a dye in bright florecent green. Also considering glow stick fluid but again, may ruin the soaps' texture.

Last question- could I pour melted soap over something textured, like ice, and have it set in an odd 'drippy' way? Just wondering if the water from the melted ice would, again, mess with texture/setting.
Thanks so much!

Are you painting on top of the soap or mixing the paint in the soap? You can paint on top of soap. SoapFantasy on YouTube uses paint for embellishments like eyes in animal shaped molds. I don’t know how mixing paint in would work.

Brambleberry lab colors (https://www.brambleberry.com/Basic-Colors-Kits-C174.aspx) are very bright. They used to have a shade called “spring green” that turns out near fluorescent. I think the apple green is the closest they currently have but the lime may be what your looking for. There are also neons in the mica world. I don’t think Brambleberry has any but Nurture Soap might (I haven’t bought colorants in a while and can’t remember who has what right now). There are also glow in the dark powders available if you are going that direction.

While I’ve never tried it, I don’t see why you wouldn’t be able to pour m&p or ice or other textures. You’ll have to keep a close eye on temps. Most bases melt around 100F, a flash freeze might be in order to even out the temps happily.