Absolute beginner

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I didnt know this about the floating soap. Or that it's easier to deal with naughty fo than with cp soap I have some of those so might try hp soap at some point!

As an example of people misunderstanding about cure time ect earlier this year I went to a beekeeping meeting because there was a woman who sold beeswax soaps and other cosmetics doing a talk I almost screamed at her what a stupid person she is when she said her scientist friend knows a way so they dont have to sit on a shelf ect for weeks ie curing! So she basically sells her soaps and they could of been made a day or less ago :mad::mad: probably not illegal but if someone gets a bad bar of soap from her they will likely tar all homemade soaps are terrible and lose me a sale, so at that point I went from willing to think about trying her stuff to swearing never to attend another meeting with her doing a talk and selling her stuff because I know I'll say something to her and get myself in trouble with the club because no doubt they will think she has far more knowledge than I do :rolleyes: she definatly does about beekeeping yes but soap I'm not so sure she knows as much as shes making out she does![/QUOTE]

She clearly doesn't. That is sad. Stick to your guns and keep learning your soaps, invest in the Scientific Soapmaking text book, if you can (it may help you by giving you a source to dispel soap myths), and have fun.

I just watched videos on YouTube on CP, some heat up the oils on stove, mix the lye and water and then put lye in oils on the stove. I also saw 2 videos that they had mixed the lye and the water the day before, had melted the coconut oil in microwave and were just mixing everything on the counter without heat, seemed easier and faster that way.. what do you think?
Thanks for the help!