A glass artisan, aiming to make CP soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Babyshoes

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I made a lot of melt and pour years ago, but fell out of it when I started melting glass( to make beads). (It's a wonderful medium to create in! But not great for my painful hands so I'm doing less of it at the moment...)

I've been watching cold process soaping videos recently, which made me ask for a beginner cp kit for my birthday, which is coming up this week. (If I don't get it, I'll be buying the bits myself anyway!) The kit contains the basics for a simple loaf of soap with lemongrass EO.

I'm very excited, and will be browsing the forums for hints and tips, and likely asking some total beginner questions as I go along!

I almost got into lampowork beads a few years ago, joined a group, attended a demo class, but didn’t. welcome to the hobby! I would just suggest to skip the fragrance the first time around, maybe a smaller batch, so you know what the soap is doing on its own.

Buying the ingredients yourself is a much more economical way to go.
do you have a recipe yet?

Thank you, I wanted to try a kit first to see how I get on with it, and I'm sure the non-consumable parts will be useful should I continue (which I expect I probably will). It comes with a recipe, correctly measured ingredients and full instructions, so hopefully fairly idiot proof! It's been put together by someone who usually does in-person CP lessons but can't currently because of lockdown. I'm happy to support small businesses to stay afloat in that way.