A big hello from Devon UK!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Laura143

Reaction score
Hello everybody!

I've been reading through the forums over the last few weeks, and have finally taken the plunge to post and say hi :)

I'm currently studying psychology at university, and my new obsession with learning how to make soap is now becoming a good distraction for coursework, oops! :D

I was looking on Etsy for Christmas gifts for my family, and I came across a soap shop and just blown away with how beautiful handmade soap can be! I've ordered some supplies to try to make my first batch of soap - I've gone for alkanet root for color and peppermint & lavender EOs. Fingers crossed it turns out okay! I can't wait to shower my friends and family with lots of different soaps while I try to work out my favourite recipe :)

I'm really looking forward to learning lots more from you all :)

Hello and welcome! :wave:

There isn't a lot of time left to get soap cured by Christmas. When will you receive your supplies?

I ordered it a few days ago so will be here next week. I'll be seeing my family the week after Christmas so I'm hoping that will give me just enough time to cure it? Otherwise, I'll just give it to them anyway once it's finished curing after Christmas :)

I haven't even made my first soap yet and I think I'm getting hooked - already scribbling down ideas in a notebook! :)

Hello Laura! :wave:

I'd dare to say, that almost anything you need to know about soaping, you can find among the pages and sages on this forum and if you can't, then just ask. Good luck with your first soap! :)

That should be plenty of time because a regular recipe is generally cured at approximately 4 weeks. Do you have a recipe?