100% natural melt and pour soap base?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SoapySteph

Reaction score
Hey all! So after yearss of wondering and wanting to make soap. I've finally decided to do it! I honestly don't want to wait the 3-6 weeks curing time (at least not yet) so I decided to give it a try first with melt & pour. Now, I am a complete beginner and have only watched several Youtube videos. I saw one video and most videos appear to be similar process. You get a base, melt it, put in ingredients, put in mold and wait. (Prob more to that, just a skim through)

Someone in one of the videos comment "That's so easy" and someone else respond that it's not considered 100% natural because it had a ready made base (Btw, the base was just goat milk). So, why wouldn't it be considered 100% natural if the base is simply goat milk base and most soaps contain lye.

Reason I ask is because when I make melt and soap I would like it to be as organic/natural

Thank you in advance!

Can you provide a link to the base you are talking about? M&P base is more than just lye soap and milk, its made with synthetic detergents, some kind of solvent and sugars.
I do not believe you can have natural M&P and you definitely can't have organic.

Can you provide a link to the base you are talking about? M&P base is more than just lye soap and milk, its made with synthetic detergents, some kind of solvent and sugars.
I do not believe you can have natural M&P and you definitely can't have organic.
Thank you! That clears up my confusion. The video showed her melting a Goat Milk Base, but like you mentioned since it's m&p then it must contain all those ingredients in order to preserve it's form (?)