My first batches

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Flutter

Reaction score
So I am new to soap making; I have done other bath and body stuff for a few months now and wanted to try soap. I have done 2 batches over the last week (my first) ... 2 hot process (crock pot) and 1 cold process.

My first HP one didn't do at all what the recipe showed, so I through it out. The second attempt at the HP one seemed to work; it did everything as it showed in the recipe. However, it was thick and the soap doesn't look pretty (could be maybe HP is better in loaf or cylinder molds?) and it just smells like soap. It was supposed to be oatmeal and honey with lavender essential oil, but no scent came through at all. Also, it still hasn't hardened all the way; it is firm, but I can break it with my bare hands.

I'm not sure if I did something wrong, or if it just needs more time to harden more and maybe next time just add more essential oils.

Next I tried another CP recipe and that went well and so far it still has a hint of the lavender smell, but it is still too soft to pop out of the molds. I guess I still need to wait on that one to see if it is going to be good or not.

Anyone have any tips for a beginner? Thanks in advance :mrgreen:

Last edited:
OK, this was the recipe I used for the HP crock pot soap ...

https://thenerdyfarmwife.com/hot-process-oatmeal-honey-soap-crock-pot-method/

This is mine ...

2ikz01w.jpg

kbawxi.jpg

Then I unmolded my CP today ... it is still a little soft though ...

2qv9h1g.jpg

This is the recipe I used for the CP one ... I did the "Healing Skin Bar" here and used green tea and then added lavender essential oil at trace.
https://thenerdyfarmwife.com/how-to-create-custom-soaps-from-a-single-recipe/

I need to get a loaf mold and/or maybe one of those cylinder ones. Then maybe my soaps can be smoother/prettier looking.