Made some Aleppo style soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SimpleSoaper

Reaction score
My wife gave me a bottle of laurel berry oil for Christmas, so yesterday I couldn't wait to make my first batch of Aleppo style soap. I've been making soap for a couple of months, using the crock pot hot process method, so I did the same for this.

The recipes I've found on the internet seem to vary quite a bit, so I kind of combined a couple into my own. I used 75% olive and 25% laurel berry oil and ran that through soap calc. Then when it got to a very thick trace I mixed in 5% more laurel berry oil and cooked it through the gel phase. It was a very thick soap in the pot, but upon unmolding it was very soft. Some have described the scent as "earthy" or juniper-like, but it definitely has it's own aroma. I can smell the earth and the juniper, but it also has the odor of stale, wet cigarettes mixed in. :sick: It's quite pungent at 25%+ so hopefully it will mellow with time. Can't wait to see how it turns out. Now begin the months of long wait...

I'd gladly welcome any recipe suggestions or modifications. I'm going to make another small CP batch to see how that turns out.

aleppo-1.jpg

aleppo-2.jpg

That's a great looking soap! Love the aleppo color but never have smelled it. I'd try it in a heartbeat though if I had the laurel berry. Where did she get it?

I got my oil here:
https://bescented.com/shop/clays-powders-additives/butters-carrier-oils/laurel-berry-oil/