Looking for feedback on my recipe:

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oboegirl

Reaction score
Since I'm still pretty new at soaping, I was hoping to get some feedback before trying this recipe I've put together. I'm looking for a morning shower soap that is very moisturizing/ conditioning since our winters here in Wisconsin are very drying! Here is the recipe I've put together so far:

Lemongrass and Mint Morning Soap

Coconut Oil: 25%
Olive Oil: 40%
Shea Butter: 20%
Castor Oil: 7%
Coco Butter: 8%

12% Superfatting

Additives:
20% weight of oils in Celtic Sea Salt
1 TBS colloidal oatmeal
1 tsp lemon zest

Thank you for any feedback or help you can give me!

Catherine

I think that looks like a lovely moisturizing bar, Catherine. I also like using Shea and cocoa butters in my soaps for winter, but generally only go up to around 20% for both ..... (I'm not sure why - probably just habit!)

Sent from my iPad using Soap Making

I have really dry skin and that recipe would be too drying for me. I'd lower the coconut to 20% and increase olive oil to 45%. I'd also leave the salt out. Soap doesn't suds in salt water unless its heavy in coconut oil. Most salt bars are 100% coconut with 20% SF to counter the high cleansing/drying properties but still supply a nice bubbly lather.

The lemon zest won't add much either unless you want it for scrubbies. I used lime zest in my shampoo bars and it just turned into brown specks.

OK, I made this "soap." Why the quotes? Because, I totally screwed this up. On the plus side, my house smells fantastic!