Basics understanding of soap making

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sab_77

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am fairly new to soap making, I've scrapped one batch and then made around 12 successful batches, but I don't fully understand the process I think, which leads to errors sometime.

I have only used hot process in a crockpot as of now.

So here are questions:

A - What is the purpose of the trace (I mean aside from mixing the fat with the lye)? Does it matter that we have a light trace or heavy trace? I think in crockpot method we always want light trace otherwise after the "cooking" is done, we don't have a very liquid soap which makes it hard to mix with the coloring or pour in moulds, etc. So the "amount" of trace does not change the final soap result, it will only change the texture, right?

B - Is the heat of oils SO important to the saponification? I've read many times "I soap at room temp" and I also made goat milk soap with a lye-water mixture at 82F and room temp oils. I made it yesterday so it is still in the mould but I don't understand how/why it will saponify if the heat is required.. I don't know if this makes sense? I know if oils are too cold we might get false trace.

C - Am I correct to assume it will be very hard (maybe impossible) to NOT have a gel phase when using crock pot method?

Thank you!

Hello and welcome! With HP you have to cook the soap. But don't overcook it to the point is dry. With HP it's not as important to monitor trace/emulsification as you're not trying to do intricate or detailed designs (though it can be done, just differently).