Salt Bar Recipe

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

annalee2003

Reaction score
Hi!

I want to make a salt bar with the leftover coconut oil (only oil I have left, besides soybean) that I have from my last batch of soap (gotta buy more ingredients!).

I've never made a salt bar before though and wanted to run the recipe by with all you lovely people first before I actually commit to anything!

100% Coconut Oil Salt Bar

16 oz. Coconut Oil
2.37 oz. Lye (NaOH)
5.28 oz. Water
8oz salt

20% superfat

I've read that the salt should be added at trace, is that correct? Could I add it to my lye water instead?

Thank you all in advance!

Last edited:
I'm no expert, I've only ever made one salt bar before. What superfat % did you use? When I did mine, I did 50% salt, added at trace. I think you can't add it to the lye water, that will make it a brine bar instead. And you can use fine sea salt, but not dead sea salt. If you use more coarse salt, then it might be too scratchy.

Ah! Knew I was forgetting something.
It'll be set at 20% superfat. I read that the higer superfat was necessary since it's coconut oil and will counteract it being so drying, I believe?

And good to know about the brine bar thing! Although that sounds interesting to make now as well, haha.

Your recipe looks fine. :)

If you are making a salt bar (as opposed to a brine bar, i.e., soleseife), add the salt at trace right before you pour.

I make many batches of salt bars, but I've never made a soleseife batch before. However, I do know that when making a soleseife/brine batch, only so much salt will be able to dissolve in the lye solution before it becomes saturated, since there's already a certain amount of sodium present in the NaOH to begin with. If you add over a certain % of salt, it simply will not dissolve. I forget what that % is, though. Hopefully someone will chime in on that.