Soaping Equipment

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cellador

Reaction score
Hi all! I am new to soaping and the forum. I made my first batch of CP soap at a class, and the soap turned out great. I am excited to start making more!
I know what equipment is required, and I would like to start purchasing some items that I can hopefully use long-term. I'd rather spend a little more to have something that will last a long time vs. purchasing multiple items that only work so-so.
My question is: What things do you wish you would have invested in initially? Is there anything you would purchase again without hesitation?

Thanks! :)

I wish I would have purchased the silicone molds in wire baskets from Essential depot earlier. Also I would definitely repurchase my single bar Bud Haffner cutter (etsy) and a good planer.

I messed around with wooden molds and paper liners for a lot longer than I should have. I really, really like the Crafter's Choice 8 inch (1501). Two of them are about $40 and give you all the versatility you need up to the point you start making BIG production batches to sell. For testing you can fill one mold half-way and get three bars. One filled all the way gets you 8 bars that are a good size for the hand and have enough room for designs. Then use both molds if you have something you really want to make a lot of.