~*~ SMF August 2017 Challenge - Rock and Gem Soaps! ~*~
~ Last Look At July Photo Entries~

Soap Making Forum > Soapmaking & Candle Recipe & Tutorials Forum > Food & Spirit Recipes > For Dorymae- laugencroissants

Old 01-29-2015, 08:15 AM   #1
IrishLass
Administrator
SOAP_ADMIN.png

Liked 6726 Times on 3412 Posts
Likes Given: 4420

Default For Dorymae- laugencroissants

Don't get too excited yet- this is only Day 1 of my Laugebcroissant endeavor.

This evening, I made the dough and the butter block, and I put them in the refrigerator to sit overnight to rest and chill. I also made my lye solution. Tomorrow I roll!

By the way, I'm completely new to laminating pastry dough the classic way with a butter block. My usual way of making pastry dough is the 'quick' way that I learned from watching Nick Malgieri's demonstration on Martha Stewart one day about a year or so ago, when I first tried my hand at making pastries. The method works really well for me, but I wanted to try it the classic way, just because, and I'm happy to say that I did it for the very first time only last week to make butter croissants....... and boy did my arms get sore! lol

All that I had to work with was my very lightweight rolling pin, which was not a good plan to say the least. I ended up running out to my nearest Sur la Table store midway through to desperately ask for the heaviest pin they had, and I came home with a lovely, heavy, marble French-style tapered rolling pin, and boy what a nice difference that made! The thing weighs almost 4 lbs and it cut my rolling efforts in half for sure! It kinda makes for a nice cudgel, too, by the way, come too think of it. Hmmm....