Menthol crystal

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seven

Reaction score
Anyone soaped with it? I have customer who is crazy about peppermint/menthol. Peppermint eo does nothing to her, she wanted the cooling sensation. I just ordered some menthol crystals online, and thought i'd asked you guys...

Yes, I am a noob here. No, I have not used menthol crystals in soap yet.

However menthol crystals are very potent and they are an irritant,
I have worked with them for about 5 years in another product.

Just make sure to not use the soap for face or get around eyes.
Possibly people with sensitive skin may have reactions depending on amount used.

I haven't put it in soap but I use it a lot in balms. Menthol crystal is nice to work with, a little goes a long way. I dissolve it first in a bit of warm water.

I use it often. It melts on a really hot day so it is easier to work with if you refrigerate it. Sometimes the crystals will clump and stick together/to the spoon otherwise.

I melt the crystals in the oils. 3% is a nice "tingle" and 5% is cooling. This is for a hot process soap where some may be driven off in the process, so as Craig says start low.

I find the nicest experience is when the menthol is combined with something else to provide the "cool" aroma. Peppermint is a nice combination with it. I do a Vanilla/Eucalyptus/Mint that really got that "something special" from 1.5% menthol.

ETA: Menthol at 3-5% in straight Everclear is a great cooling aftershave and similar to some commercial unscented offerings.

Thank you for the info guys, glad i asked. This customer had a previous experience with 3% menthol in a liquid soap. I thought that was pretty huge amount, as i normally scent my ls in the 1-2% range. She loved it though. Okay, to each her own.