Wood Ash Lye

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thunderpickles

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to soap making, I still have yet to make my first batch. I have been researching but can't seem to find the information that I'm looking for. I am hoping someone here can help me out.

My attempt for soap making is to use homemade lye. I have made lye using hard wood ash. I tested it using the egg and it proves to be lye.
All recipes and calculators talk about lye as a crystal or powder with water being added to it. My lye is already a liquid so this doesn't apply to my case.

My question is, what is the conversion rule for replacing crystal or powder lye and water with ash wood lye (liquid) in a recipe?

Thank you

Hi, and Welcome!

I admire your courage. I sort of get the whole "do it like the pioneers did" mentality. However, I also must inject a word or two of caution.

First, wood ashes gives potassium carbonate (potash) and sodium carbonate (soda ash). When you add acids, I think both will produce carbon dioxide that will off gas.

While both are alkaline, they are not the most efficient alkaline substances to make soap with. They WILL hurt you if allowed to touch skin, however. Use safety equipment. Also, wood ash lye gives paste soap, I think you have to cook it for extended periods of time to get bars. I am not sure, so you need to verify this with someone more knowledgeable than I. DeeAnna may be able to help here.

Second, while you did the egg test, it is not the most accurate method of knowing how much alkali is in it. Any answer we give may or may not be the correct one due to poor measurement of alkalinity.

We use a water percentage of 38% for bar soaps. I would start with that, and be prepared to adjust as necessary.