could my soap be breaking me out?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

corrine025

Reaction score
I have been making soap for about 6 months now. I recently started breaking out in a rash all over. Im curious if anyone else has had this problem with their soaps. could it be the fragrance oils?

Castille soap makes me break out in little bumps. It almost feels like it clogs my pores. It happens on about the third day of consistent use and then clears up a couple days after I switch to something else. This is with unscented soap. I'm not sure about the fragrance oil though.

Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk 2

it could be anything. FO, EO, any of the additives you use in your soaps, or even a particular oil. did you just switch to a new soap recently?

Although I am not a doctor, and therefore am not giving medical advice without a license, I can make a guess.

If a rash is "all over", it usually can be tracked to a change in one or more of the following:

Body soap/shampoo/conditioner/lotion/some other "all over" body product. Have you changed anything starting anywhere from 24-72 hours before the rash showed up?

Laundry products-again, even a change to a "New and Improved" version of an old faithful product can cause issues.

Food/medication allergies-eating anything new, or at least have not had in a few months?

The real problem with identifying possible allergens is that you can develop an allergy to anything at any time. The body develops allergies after repeated exposure. Indeed, it is impossible to be allergic to something the first time you have ever been exposed to it.

Indeed, it is impossible to be allergic to something the first time you have ever been exposed to it.[/QUOTE]