Do you master batch?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rodeogal

Reaction score
Like many of you, soaping is my full-time passion, but not my full-time income. With work, our goats, and now our garden, my soaping time is at a premium. I really need more hours in the day. However, I have been researching master batching for oils. I really feel this would be a great help to me, as I could just grab a bowl and go at it.

Do any of you master batch your oils? Do you store them in one big container or weigh them out in batch size containers? Do you find it saves you time?
Do you add all the oils? I saw one person say they add everything but the olive oil and add it when they actually soap.

I've been thinking of doing the same thing. Would love to hear some input! I have a master batch recipe, but I'm not too thrilled with all of the ingredients.

I master batch my main recipe, and also my lye at a 50% solution. Makes soaping so much faster. What used to take me all weekend to get 2-3 batches done, now takes me a matter of a couple hours...
I will never go back to weighing out individual batches unless I'm doing a new recipe or one of my specialty soaps.

So glad to hear this. I am really excited about the prospect. I told Mr. last I was going to make a master batch this weekend if I had to stay up all night to do it! lol

I guess my biggest question about master batching is do the oils separate over time, or are you mixing in a big bucket and splitting immediately into specific weights so if it separates, things separate accordingly?

Liz, there are different schools of thought on batching from what I can find. For me personally, I feel that mixing all the oils and putting them in batch-size containers will work better for me.